AI visibility trackers (GEO)
As of October 29, 2026, Writesonic's cheapest paid plan is Starter at $99/month billed monthly, or $79/month billed annually, per its own pricing page. Writesonic is built around tracking and improving AI visibility, while Paperboy writes and fact checks the articles those answers can cite, and the table shows where the two overlap.
| Row | Paperboy | Writesonic |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | $49 a month | $99/month billed monthly, or $79/month billed annually |
| Fact checks claims against sources | Yes | Not listed |
| Learns from Search Console | Yes | Partly |
| Publishes to your site for you | Partly | Partly |
| MCP, API or CLI for agents | Yes | Yes |
Side by side
Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.
| Feature | Paperboy | Writesonic |
|---|---|---|
| What it is for | Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | AI search visibility tracking (GEO and AEO) with content and site-fix agents SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| Cheapest paid plan | Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Starter, $99/month billed monthly or $79/month billed annually. Includes 15 AI articles per month, 50 tracked prompts, 10 site audits and 1 user. Extra users cost $50/month each. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| Free plan or trial | Yes The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required). SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Yes 7-day free trial with no credit card (homepage and pricing page). The pricing FAQ also states a 7-day refund. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| Publishes to your site for you | Partly Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partly. A WordPress plugin lets you publish an article from your Writesonic account to WordPress. The integrations page also lists publishing to Sanity, Contentful and Vercel. Scheduled or fully automatic article publishing is not stated. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| Fact checks claims against sources | Yes Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Not listed No claim found that article claims are checked against sources. The AI Article Writer 6 docs mention source citation through links or footnotes. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| Learns from Search Console | Yes Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partly. A Google Search Console integration pulls queries, clicks and AI Overview citations, and an Action Center ranks fixes. Availability depends on plan. A loop where Search Console data picks or refreshes articles is not stated. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| Open source or self-host | Yes The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Not listed No statement that the platform is open source or self-hostable. The Writesonic GitHub org holds a few unrelated libraries, such as GPTRouter (MIT). SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
| MCP, API or CLI for agents | Yes A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Yes Yes. A REST API (X-API-KEY header) with GEO report endpoints, a hosted MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Cursor, Codex and n8n, and a Zapier integration. The MCP and API pages focus on AI visibility data. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 |
“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.
The honest verdict
Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.
Pick Writesonic if
What Writesonic does well, from its own pages
Pick Paperboy if
Judge it before you pay anyone
Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.
Write my first article freeWhat you get
The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.
AI search visibility tracking (GEO and AEO) with content and site-fix agents (writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026). Paperboy does not report how often AI answers mention your brand. It has a free check that shows whether AI crawlers can read your site, and nothing more on that side.
Paperboy writes the article, compares every cited claim with the saved text of its source and publishes it. On Writesonic's side: Partly. A WordPress plugin lets you publish an article from your Writesonic account to WordPress. The integrations page also lists publishing to Sanity, Contentful and Vercel. Scheduled or fully automatic article publishing is not stated (docs.writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026).
Measuring shows the gap. Fixing it takes a page that answers the question and cites sources a model can lean on, which is the part Paperboy writes. Writesonic on search data: Partly. A Google Search Console integration pulls queries, clicks and AI Overview citations, and an Action Center ranks fixes. Availability depends on plan. A loop where Search Console data picks or refreshes articles is not stated (writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026).
Writesonic: Yes. A REST API (X-API-KEY header) with GEO report endpoints, a hosted MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Cursor, Codex and n8n, and a Zapier integration. The MCP and API pages focus on AI visibility data (writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026). Paperboy has a remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API. Its CLI is not on npm yet.
Try it
You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from Writesonic.
Keep Writesonic running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.
Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.
Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.
Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.comThe engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.
About Writesonic
Writesonic is an AI search visibility platform that tracks brand mentions in AI engines and adds agents for content and site fixes. (its own description, read Oct 29, 2026)
Writesonic has repositioned from a general AI writer to an AI search visibility platform. The pricing page now leads with visibility tracking and lists articles as one feature. Pricing page defaults to annual prices; monthly prices were read from the page's own billing data. Older Chatsonic and AI Article Writer docs remain on docs.writesonic.com.
| Plan | Price | What the page says it includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $99/month billed monthly, or $79/month billed annually | 15 AI articles per month, 50 prompts and 50 answers tracked daily (ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews), 10 site audits of 100 pages, 1 user, 1 project, limited agentic workflows (10 trial runs) |
| Basic | $249/month billed monthly, or $199/month billed annually | 25 AI articles per month, 100 prompts and 300 answers tracked daily, 20 site audits of 1,200 pages, 2 users, 1 project, 50 trial runs |
| Growth | $499/month billed monthly, or $399/month billed annually | 50 AI articles per month, 200 prompts and 600 answers tracked daily, 50 site audits of 2,500 pages, 3 users, 2 projects, Action Center trial (5 off-page and 5 on-page actions per month), 100 trial runs. Add-on: 20 more articles for $100/month. |
| Enterprise | Custom | 9 AI platforms tracked, custom articles, audits, users and projects, full Action Center, SSO/SAML, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR, dedicated AI search strategist |
From Writesonic's pricing page, read October 29, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.
FAQ
As of Oct 29, 2026, Writesonic lists Starter $99/month billed monthly, or $79/month billed annually; Basic $249/month billed monthly, or $199/month billed annually; Growth $499/month billed monthly, or $399/month billed annually. writesonic.com is the source, so confirm there before you buy.
Partly. A WordPress plugin lets you publish an article from your Writesonic account to WordPress. The integrations page also lists publishing to Sanity, Contentful and Vercel. Scheduled or fully automatic article publishing is not stated (docs.writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026).
Partly. A Google Search Console integration pulls queries, clicks and AI Overview citations, and an Action Center ranks fixes. Availability depends on plan. A loop where Search Console data picks or refreshes articles is not stated (writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026).
The Writesonic pages we read do not say (github.com, read Oct 29, 2026).
Yes. A REST API (X-API-KEY header) with GEO report endpoints, a hosted MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Cursor, Codex and n8n, and a Zapier integration. The MCP and API pages focus on AI visibility data (writesonic.com, read Oct 29, 2026).
Sources
Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about Writesonic come from Writesonic's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.
Keep going
Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.
Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.