AI visibility trackers (GEO)
As of October 30, 2026, Gauge's cheapest paid plan is Gauge Agents (hosted) at From $100/month, per its own pricing page. Gauge is built around tracking and improving AI visibility, while Paperboy writes and fact checks the articles those answers can cite, and the table shows where the two overlap.
| Row | Paperboy | Gauge |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | $49 a month | From $100/month |
| Fact checks claims against sources | Yes | Not listed |
| Learns from Search Console | Yes | Partly |
| Publishes to your site for you | Partly | Partly |
| MCP, API or CLI for agents | Yes | Yes |
Side by side
Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.
| Feature | Paperboy | Gauge |
|---|---|---|
| What it is for | Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | AI visibility tracking with a content engine, plus agent preference and agent experience testing SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Cheapest paid plan | Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Growth is $599/month, self-serve: 600 daily prompts across 3 platforms, 54,000 AI answers tracked monthly, 18 publish-ready articles per month and 3 seats. Hosted Gauge Agents start at $100/month for 1,500 credits. The page does not state an annual rate. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Free plan or trial | Yes The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required). SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partial. 1,000 free credits that do not expire are offered for Gauge Agents with no card required, and the CLI runs locally for free. A free trial of the Growth visibility plan is not stated. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Publishes to your site for you | Partly Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partial. The content engine generates briefs, outlines and articles, then publishes through Webflow, Framer, Sanity or a GitHub pull request, with Markdown export for other platforms. Whether publishing runs on a schedule without review is not stated. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fact checks claims against sources | Yes Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Not listed Not stated on https://withgauge.com/. Citation analysis and sentiment analysis are listed, but a claim-to-source fact check of articles is not described. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Learns from Search Console | Yes Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partial. Google Search Console and GA4 can be connected so traffic and search performance sit alongside AI visibility data. Automatic rewrites of pages based on Search Console data are not stated. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Open source or self-host | Yes The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partial. The Gauge CLI is MIT licensed on GitHub (gauge-sh/gauge-cli). The hosted visibility platform is not stated to be open source. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| MCP, API or CLI for agents | Yes A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Yes Yes. The pricing page lists MCP access on all plans and Slack integration. The homepage lists Slack, MCP and a Gauge CLI, and the docs link to a public API reference. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.
The honest verdict
Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.
Pick Gauge if
What Gauge does well, from its own pages
Pick Paperboy if
Judge it before you pay anyone
Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.
Write my first article freeWhat you get
The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.
AI visibility tracking with a content engine, plus agent preference and agent experience testing (withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026). Paperboy does not report how often AI answers mention your brand. It has a free check that shows whether AI crawlers can read your site, and nothing more on that side.
Paperboy writes the article, compares every cited claim with the saved text of its source and publishes it. On Gauge's side: Partial. The content engine generates briefs, outlines and articles, then publishes through Webflow, Framer, Sanity or a GitHub pull request, with Markdown export for other platforms. Whether publishing runs on a schedule without review is not stated (withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026).
Measuring shows the gap. Fixing it takes a page that answers the question and cites sources a model can lean on, which is the part Paperboy writes. Gauge on search data: Partial. Google Search Console and GA4 can be connected so traffic and search performance sit alongside AI visibility data. Automatic rewrites of pages based on Search Console data are not stated (docs.withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026).
Gauge: Yes. The pricing page lists MCP access on all plans and Slack integration. The homepage lists Slack, MCP and a Gauge CLI, and the docs link to a public API reference (withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026). Paperboy has a remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API. Its CLI is not on npm yet.
Try it
You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from Gauge.
Keep Gauge running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.
Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.
Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.
Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.comThe engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.
About Gauge
Platform for AI search visibility that tracks how brands appear in AI answers, produces and publishes content, and also tests how coding agents discover and use a product. (its own description, read Oct 30, 2026)
Gauge sells two product lines with separate pricing: Gauge Chat for AI visibility ($599/month Growth) and Gauge Agents for agent testing (from $100/month). The code agents10 gives 10% off the first 3 months of Growth per the pricing page. The GitHub org page shows only a .github repo, while the CLI lives under gauge-sh.
| Plan | Price | What the page says it includes |
|---|---|---|
| Growth (Gauge Chat, AI visibility) | $599/month | 600 daily prompts across 3 platforms (ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot); 54,000 AI answers tracked monthly; 18 publish-ready articles per month; 3 seats; email and Slack support; self-serve |
| Enterprise (Gauge Chat) | Custom pricing | 6 core platforms plus optional Claude and Grok with your API keys; sentiment analysis and exports; custom prompts, articles, seats and locations |
| Gauge Agents (hosted) | From $100/month | 1,500 credits at the entry tier; $1,000/month tier with 16,800 credits; custom plans above that |
| Free credits and local CLI | Free | 1,000 free credits with no card required for Gauge Agents; open-source CLI runs locally with your own Claude subscription |
From Gauge's pricing page, read October 30, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.
FAQ
As of Oct 30, 2026, Gauge lists Growth (Gauge Chat, AI visibility) $599/month; Gauge Agents (hosted) From $100/month. withgauge.com is the source, so confirm there before you buy.
Partial. The content engine generates briefs, outlines and articles, then publishes through Webflow, Framer, Sanity or a GitHub pull request, with Markdown export for other platforms. Whether publishing runs on a schedule without review is not stated (withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026).
Partial. Google Search Console and GA4 can be connected so traffic and search performance sit alongside AI visibility data. Automatic rewrites of pages based on Search Console data are not stated (docs.withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026).
Partial. The Gauge CLI is MIT licensed on GitHub (gauge-sh/gauge-cli). The hosted visibility platform is not stated to be open source (github.com, read Oct 30, 2026).
Yes. The pricing page lists MCP access on all plans and Slack integration. The homepage lists Slack, MCP and a Gauge CLI, and the docs link to a public API reference (withgauge.com, read Oct 30, 2026).
Sources
Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about Gauge come from Gauge's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.
Keep going
Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.
Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.