The best Outrank alternative for source-checked articles and a free first article is Paperboy. For other price and publishing choices, look at Arvow, SEObot, Koala or RankYak.
Outrank is still the better pick if you want a set of 30 articles a month, a backlink service and 150+ languages in one plan.
Paperboy makes this comparison, and Paperboy is one of the options.
Outrank alternatives at a glance
Prices are "as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot" where we have one. Every company's own pages were read October 19 or 20, 2026. "Not listed" means we did not find it on that page. It is not proof the feature is missing.
| Tool | Best for | Price | Publishes to | Fact check step |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outrank | 30 articles a month plus backlinks | $99 a month for 30 articles, as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot (pricing page) | WordPress, WordPress.com, Webflow, Shopify, Framer, Wix, Notion, Ghost, Next.js, webhook (source) | Not listed on outrank.so |
| Paperboy (ours) | Small sites that want sources checked | $49 a month for 3 articles a week, as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot (source) | Hosted blog, WordPress, Ghost, AI site builders, webhook (source) | Listed: numbers and cited sentences checked against the source (source) |
| Arvow | 150+ languages, AI visibility tracking | From $39 a month, billed yearly (listed as a limited-time price), as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot (pricing page) | WordPress, Shopify, Ghost, Wix, Webflow, Framer, Blogger, GoHighLevel, Squarespace, Zapier, webhooks (source) | Not listed on arvow.com |
| SEObot | Wide publishing list, 50+ languages | See their pricing section | WordPress, Webflow, Ghost, Framer, Wix, Shopify, Notion, HubSpot, Next.js, Zapier, webhooks, REST API (source) | Listed: "fact checking system, with citation of sources" (source) |
| Koala | Free start with no card | See their pricing page | WordPress, Shopify, Webflow, Ghost, webhooks (source) | Research mode listed, a fact check step is not listed (source) |
| RankYak | Short trial, 40+ languages | See their pricing page | WordPress, Wix, Shopify, WordPress.com, Webflow, Zapier, Make, RSS, REST API, webhooks (source) | Listed: "Verified facts and cited sources" (source) |
The five options are Paperboy, Arvow, SEObot, Koala and RankYak. Outrank's row is there for reference. Paperboy's Growth plan is $99 a month for 7 articles a week and Pro is $179 for 14 a week, both as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot. Paperboy plans are priced per site.
Outrank: pick it when it fits better
Outrank says it offers "done-for-you Blog Posts, Backlinks and Free Tools." It lists 30 articles a month, automated keyword research, AI images, unlimited users and articles in "150+ languages" (outrank.so). It also says you can "review, edit, or modify the draft" in your own platform before you publish.
Pick it if you want a fixed monthly article count and a backlink service in one plan, or you write in many languages.
Limit: a fact check step is not listed on its homepage or pricing page. It lists a paid "Human Curated Service" add-on, $1,399 a month, as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot (pricing page).
Paperboy
Paperboy researches, writes, fact-checks and publishes articles to your site. Your first article is free, with no credit card. You can choose "Approve first" and publish each article with one email button, or leave it on autopilot (paperboyseo.com).
Pick it if you run a small business site and want every number tied to a source, plus a hold rule when a check fails.
Limit: Shopify, Wix and Webflow are listed as coming soon, so they are not available yet. A backlink service and an AI search mention tracker are not listed. Search Console is optional (paperboyseo.com).
Arvow
Arvow says its AI agents "build backlinks, find and fix technical issues, research, write, and publish content" (arvow.com). It lists 150+ languages and an AI visibility tracker for ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok and Google AI Overview. See our Arvow alternatives page for more.
Pick it if you want an autopilot like Outrank with AI search tracking in the same plan.
Limit: a fact check step is not listed on its homepage.
SEObot
SEObot calls itself a fully autonomous "SEO Robot" with SEO AI agents. It lists articles of up to 4000 words, 50+ languages and a fact checking system "with citation of sources" (seobotai.com). See our SEObot alternatives page for more.
Pick it if you publish to HubSpot, Notion or a REST API, or want the widest publishing list.
Limit: what its fact check compares is not stated on its homepage. A free trial is not listed there. See its pricing section for plan prices.
Koala
Koala lists a "Deep Research Mode" for "factual, well-cited content from authoritative sources." It says "Free to start" with "No credit card required" (koala.sh).
Pick it if you want to try a writer with no card.
Limit: the page describes research, and a separate fact check step is not listed. Language support is not listed on the homepage.
RankYak
RankYak says it "finds the keywords, writes the articles, builds the backlinks, and publishes to your site." It lists 40+ languages and "verified facts and cited sources" (rankyak.com). See our RankYak alternatives page for more.
Pick it if you want a short trial. It lists a 3-day free trial.
Limit: it lists verified facts, but how they are verified is not stated on its homepage.
What a fact check actually compares
"Fact-checked" can mean different things, so ask each tool what it compares.
Paperboy's check works like this (paperboyseo.com):
- Every number in the article must appear in the source it links to.
- Every cited sentence is compared with that source's own words.
- If anything fails, the article gets one rewrite.
- If it still fails, the article is held for you and not published.
That is a check against the source text. It does not tell you whether the source itself is right. You still decide which sources you trust.
SEObot and RankYak list fact checking or verified facts on their own sites, but neither states the method on its homepage. Other tools may list it too. Check each site.
Do you need AI search tracking?
Outrank's homepage talks about getting brands "recommended by ChatGPT." A tracker that shows when that happens is not listed there. Arvow lists one. Paperboy does not list one. If you want to know whether ChatGPT and Perplexity can read your site, run the free AI visibility checker, or check whether ChatGPT and Perplexity can see your business with PickCheck. No tool can promise that AI answers will mention you.
More comparisons: Surfer alternatives and AI blog writers compared. For all eleven tools on one page, see AI blog writer alternatives.
How we checked
We read each tool's own pages on October 19 or 20, 2026. Every price comes from Paperboy's October 4, 2026 snapshot of each company's pricing page. Where we have no snapshot price, we link to their pricing page. Our own blog at paperboyseo.com/blog is written by Paperboy. Plans change often, so confirm on the vendor's page before you buy. Paperboy is made by Hive Asset Group, LLC.
Sources
Checked October 20, 2026:
- https://outrank.so
- https://outrank.so/pricing
- https://arvow.com
- https://arvow.com/pricing
- https://seobotai.com
- https://seobotai.com/#pricing
- https://koala.sh
- https://rankyak.com
- https://paperboyseo.com
- https://paperboyseo.com/blog
Prices: Paperboy's snapshot of each company's pricing page, October 4, 2026 (Outrank, Arvow)
Frequently asked questions
How much does Outrank cost?
Outrank showed $99 a month for 30 articles, as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot. See Outrank's pricing page for today's plans and add-ons.
Does Outrank fact check its articles?
A fact check step is not listed on Outrank's homepage or pricing page. It lists a paid "Human Curated Service" add-on, $1,399 a month, as of October 4, 2026, Paperboy's snapshot (pricing page). Ask Outrank what its tool compares before you rely on it.
Which Outrank alternative checks facts against sources?
Paperboy, SEObot and RankYak list fact checking or verified facts on their own sites. Paperboy states what it compares: numbers and cited sentences against the linked source. The others do not state the method on their homepages.
Does Outrank have a free trial?
Outrank's pricing page says you can sign up and see keyword research and article generation for your website before subscribing. Trial articles carry an Outrank watermark. Paperboy writes your first article free, with no credit card.
Do I need Google Search Console?
Not for Paperboy. It is optional, and new sites can skip it.