AI visibility trackers (GEO)

Paperboy vs Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit: which one should you use?

As of October 29, 2026, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit's cheapest paid plan is AI Visibility Toolkit (Base) at $99/month per domain, per its own pricing page. Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit is built around tracking and improving AI visibility, while Paperboy writes and fact checks the articles those answers can cite, and the table shows where the two overlap.

PaperboySemrush AI Visibility Toolkit
Quick facts for Paperboy and Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, from the table below
RowPaperboySemrush AI Visibility Toolkit
Cheapest paid plan$49 a month$99/month per domain
Fact checks claims against sourcesYesNot listed
Learns from Search ConsoleYesNot listed
Publishes to your site for youPartlyNot listed
MCP, API or CLI for agentsYesPartly

Side by side

How do Paperboy and Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit compare, row by row?

Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026
Paperboy compared with Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit on eight rows, each cell with its source and the date it was read
FeaturePaperboySemrush AI Visibility Toolkit
What it is for

Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

AI visibility tracking and research: daily prompt tracking (25 prompts on the base toolkit) on platforms such as Google AI Mode and ChatGPT, brand performance reports, competitor research and prompt research, plus AI search checks in Site Audit.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Cheapest paid plan

Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

Cheapest paid option is the AI Visibility Toolkit at $99 per domain per month (25 prompts, 1 domain). Extra domains cost $99 each and 50 extra prompts cost $60 per month. The combined Semrush One Starter plan is $199 per month ($165.17 billed annually) with 50 prompts.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Free plan or trial
Yes

The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required).

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

Partial. The toolkit's knowledge base says it has no free trial. The Semrush One plans that include AI visibility show a try-for-free option, and the pricing page footer offers 7 days free. A free plan exists with 1 demo project and no card.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Publishes to your site for you
Partly

Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated. The toolkit pages describe reports, prompt tracking and an AI search site audit. No CMS publishing is listed for the toolkit.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Fact checks claims against sources
Yes

Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated. Brand Performance reports analyze sentiment and the narratives AI gives about your brand. Nothing describes checking article claims against cited sources.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Learns from Search Console
Yes

Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated for the toolkit. The Base Report add-on ($10 per month) lists Google Analytics and Google Search Console integrations for reports. Nothing says Search Console data picks or refreshes content in the toolkit.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Open source or self-host
Yes

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated. Semrush is closed hosted software. Its GitHub org has some open tools (design system, agent skills for the Semrush MCP) but not the product.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
MCP, API or CLI for agents
Yes

A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

Semrush has a public API and an official MCP server (OAuth or API key). MCP access comes with Semrush One Starter and Pro+ (50,000 MCP API units) and some SEO Classic plans. The MCP docs list Trends, SEO and read-only Projects APIs and do not list the AI Visibility Toolkit. No CLI found.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.

The honest verdict

When should I pick Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, and when Paperboy?

Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.

Pick Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit if

  • Pick the Semrush toolkit if you already use Semrush and want AI visibility reports beside rankings, audits and backlink data.
  • Pick the Semrush toolkit if you want prompt research with volume and difficulty before choosing which prompts to track.
  • Pick the Semrush toolkit if you want one vendor and one invoice for SEO and AI visibility, through Semrush One.

What Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit does well, from its own pages

  • Part of the Semrush One bundle, so AI visibility sits next to keyword tracking, Site Audit and competitor tools under one subscription. (source)
  • Prompt Research gives topic-level volume, difficulty and intent, like keyword research for AI, before you pick prompts to track. (source)
  • Prompt Tracking covers 220+ countries and territories, and Site Audit flags technical issues that stop AI bots crawling your content. (source)

Pick Paperboy if

  • You need pages that answer the questions AI answers get asked, with sources a model can cite.
  • You want those pages written, fact checked and published rather than only measured.
  • You want Search Console data picking the topics.

Judge it before you pay anyone

Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.

Write my first article free

What you get

What are the real differences between Paperboy and Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit?

The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.

Try it

How do I try Paperboy next to Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit?

You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit.

  1. Keep Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.

  2. Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.

  3. Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.

  4. Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.

Open in your browser
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.com

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.

About Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

What is Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, and how much does it cost?

Semrush add-on that shows how brands appear in AI-generated answers, with prompt tracking, competitor and prompt research, and AI search site audit checks. (its own description, read Oct 29, 2026)

The toolkit is a $99 add-on on top of an existing Semrush subscription (or bought alone). Semrush One bundles it with the SEO toolkit. The knowledge base states no free trial for the toolkit, while generic Semrush pages offer a 7-day trial; the two are recorded separately. A search result from semrush.com said the toolkit is not currently exposed through the MCP; the MCP docs read do not list it.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit plans and prices as shown on its pricing page
PlanPriceWhat the page says it includes
AI Visibility Toolkit (Base)$99/month per domain (pricing page label says billed annually; the knowledge base says $99 per month)AI visibility reports for any domain; 25 tracked prompts with daily rankings; 1 domain for Brand Performance; 300 daily queries in AI Analysis and 1,000 in Prompt Research; AI search checks in Site Audit for up to 100 pages; 10 CSV exports daily
Semrush One Starter (SEO + AI Search)$199/month, or $165.17/month billed annually50 prompts tracked daily; 1 domain for AI brand performance; 300 AI visibility reports per day; 5 websites and 500 daily keywords; MCP access
Semrush One Pro+$299/month, or $248.17/month billed annually100 prompts tracked daily; 15 websites and 1,500 daily keywords; content optimization
Semrush One AdvancedCustomUnlimited prompts tracked daily; 40+ websites; advanced API data integration; team users

From Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit's pricing page, read October 29, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.

FAQ

Questions about Paperboy and Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

Still have a question? Ask us or read the docs.

How much does Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit cost?

As of Oct 29, 2026, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit lists AI Visibility Toolkit (Base) $99/month per domain; Semrush One Starter (SEO + AI Search) $199/month, or $165.17/month billed annually; Semrush One Pro+ $299/month, or $248.17/month billed annually. semrush.com is the source, so confirm there before you buy.

Does Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit write or publish articles?

The Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit pages we read do not say (semrush.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Does Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit use Search Console data?

The Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit pages we read do not say (semrush.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Is Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit open source?

The Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit pages we read do not say (github.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Does Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit work with AI agents or MCP?

Semrush has a public API and an official MCP server (OAuth or API key). MCP access comes with Semrush One Starter and Pro+ (50,000 MCP API units) and some SEO Classic plans. The MCP docs list Trends, SEO and read-only Projects APIs and do not list the AI Visibility Toolkit. No CLI found (developer.semrush.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Sources

Where do these facts come from?

Where do these facts come from?

Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit come from Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.

Keep going

Where do I go next?

Ready to judge it on your own site?

Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.

You pick a plan only after you have read it.

Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.