AI visibility trackers (GEO)

Paperboy vs Scrunch AI: which one should you use?

As of October 29, 2026, Scrunch AI's cheapest paid plan is Core (brands) at $250/month, per its own pricing page. Scrunch AI is built around tracking and improving AI visibility, while Paperboy writes and fact checks the articles those answers can cite, and the table shows where the two overlap.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026Scrunch AI pricing page
PaperboyScrunch AI
Quick facts for Paperboy and Scrunch AI, from the table below
RowPaperboyScrunch AI
Cheapest paid plan$49 a month$250/month
Fact checks claims against sourcesYesNot listed
Learns from Search ConsoleYesPartly
Publishes to your site for youPartlyNo
MCP, API or CLI for agentsYesYes

Side by side

How do Paperboy and Scrunch AI compare, row by row?

Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026
Paperboy compared with Scrunch AI on eight rows, each cell with its source and the date it was read
FeaturePaperboyScrunch AI
What it is for

Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

AI visibility monitoring: 125 unique prompts on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot on Core (9 LLMs on Enterprise), plus site audits, AI bot traffic and Agent Pages for AI crawlers.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Cheapest paid plan

Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

Cheapest paid plan is Core at $250 per month: 125 unique prompts, 5,000 responses per month, 5 site audits, 1 brand workspace, 5 user licenses, 4 LLMs. Agency Core is $500 per month. The page shows a per-month price; the answer to its annual pricing FAQ was not readable, so annual terms are not verified.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Free plan or trial
Yes

The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required).

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Yes

Yes. 7-day free trial of the self-serve Core plan, no sales call needed. After the trial you are upgraded to a paid plan unless you cancel. Whether a card is required is not stated on the pages read.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Publishes to your site for you
Partly

Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
No

No. Scrunch's FAQ says Agent Pages does not publish new content. It makes an AI-optimized version of existing pages and serves it to AI agents at the CDN layer, leaving your CMS and human visitors unchanged. Core lists basic content generation but no CMS publishing.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Fact checks claims against sources
Yes

Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated. The pages read describe monitoring, sentiment, site audits and page optimization, and say nothing about checking article claims against cited sources.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Learns from Search Console
Yes

Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

Partial. Scrunch's MCP docs index lists workflows that join Google Search Console queries with Scrunch data and bulk-create prompts from GSC query gaps. These run through your own AI assistant. The pricing page lists no native Search Console connector.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Open source or self-host
Yes

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated. Scrunch is a hosted product. Its scrunch-ai GitHub org has no public repos.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
MCP, API or CLI for agents
Yes

A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Yes

Hosted MCP server with 51 tools (read and write) and Agent Skills; a May 2026 Scrunch blog says MCP is on all plans, while the pricing table shows MCP under Enterprise. Query, Responses, Signals, Site Optimization, Configuration and Agent Traffic APIs (the pricing table gates Query API to Enterprise). Looker Studio connector. The table has a CLI Access row, not included on Core.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.

The honest verdict

When should I pick Scrunch AI, and when Paperboy?

Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.

Pick Scrunch AI if

  • Pick Scrunch if you want AI visibility monitoring from $250 per month and also want to change how AI crawlers see your site through Agent Pages.
  • Pick Scrunch if you need a documented API and MCP for monitoring data, plus Looker Studio dashboards.
  • Pick Scrunch if you run an agency and want a plan built for multiple clients.

What Scrunch AI does well, from its own pages

  • Agent Pages serves clean, server-rendered versions of your pages to AI agents at the CDN layer, with no change to your CMS or human-facing site. (source)
  • Tracks AI bot traffic from your CDN and ships a wide documented API surface (Query, Responses, Signals, Site Optimization, Configuration) plus 51 MCP tools. (source)
  • Offers separate agency plans (Agency Core at $500 per month) and a self-serve 7-day trial. (source)

Pick Paperboy if

  • You need pages that answer the questions AI answers get asked, with sources a model can cite.
  • You want those pages written, fact checked and published rather than only measured.
  • You want Search Console data picking the topics.

Judge it before you pay anyone

Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.

Write my first article free

What you get

What are the real differences between Paperboy and Scrunch AI?

The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.

Try it

How do I try Paperboy next to Scrunch AI?

You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from Scrunch AI.

  1. Keep Scrunch AI running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.

  2. Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.

  3. Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.

  4. Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.

Open in your browser
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.com

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.

About Scrunch AI

What is Scrunch AI, and how much does it cost?

Platform that monitors how AI search shows your brand and serves AI-optimized versions of your pages to AI agents through its Agent Experience Platform. (its own description, read Oct 29, 2026)

Brand name is Scrunch (scrunch.com); the app and MCP host use scrunchai.com. Plan names on the page today are Core and Enterprise. A WebFetch summary of the page showed different plan names and prices; the raw HTML and the vendor FAQ both show Core at $250, which is what is recorded here. The FAQ on annual pricing could not be read.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026
Scrunch AI plans and prices as shown on its pricing page
PlanPriceWhat the page says it includes
Core (brands)$250/month125 unique prompts; 5,000 responses per month; 5 site audits per month; 1 brand workspace; 5 user licenses; 4 LLMs (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Copilot); 1 country; 5 competitors; 1 page optimization per month; basic content generation; AI agent traffic analytics
Enterprise (brands)CustomCustom prompts and responses; 9 LLMs; Agent Experience Platform; query API and advanced API access; Looker Studio; SSO (SAML, OIDC); dedicated account team
Agency Core$500/month (per Scrunch pricing FAQ)Agency plan for multiple clients; details not listed on the pages read
Agency EnterpriseCustomMulti-client management and API access (per Scrunch pricing FAQ)

From Scrunch AI's pricing page, read October 29, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.

FAQ

Questions about Paperboy and Scrunch AI

Still have a question? Ask us or read the docs.

How much does Scrunch AI cost?

As of Oct 29, 2026, Scrunch AI lists Core (brands) $250/month; Agency Core $500/month. scrunch.com is the source, so confirm there before you buy.

Does Scrunch AI write or publish articles?

No. Scrunch's FAQ says Agent Pages does not publish new content. It makes an AI-optimized version of existing pages and serves it to AI agents at the CDN layer, leaving your CMS and human visitors unchanged. Core lists basic content generation but no CMS publishing (scrunch.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Does Scrunch AI use Search Console data?

Partial. Scrunch's MCP docs index lists workflows that join Google Search Console queries with Scrunch data and bulk-create prompts from GSC query gaps. These run through your own AI assistant. The pricing page lists no native Search Console connector (developers.scrunch.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Is Scrunch AI open source?

The Scrunch AI pages we read do not say (github.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Does Scrunch AI work with AI agents or MCP?

Hosted MCP server with 51 tools (read and write) and Agent Skills; a May 2026 Scrunch blog says MCP is on all plans, while the pricing table shows MCP under Enterprise. Query, Responses, Signals, Site Optimization, Configuration and Agent Traffic APIs (the pricing table gates Query API to Enterprise). Looker Studio connector. The table has a CLI Access row, not included on Core (developers.scrunch.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Sources

Where do these facts come from?

Where do these facts come from?

Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about Scrunch AI come from Scrunch AI's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.

Keep going

Where do I go next?

Ready to judge it on your own site?

Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.

You pick a plan only after you have read it.

Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.