AI visibility trackers (GEO)

Paperboy vs Profound: which one should you use?

As of October 29, 2026, Profound's pricing page shows no fixed self-serve plan price we could read. Profound is built around tracking and improving AI visibility, while Paperboy writes and fact checks the articles those answers can cite, and the table shows where the two overlap.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026Profound pricing page
PaperboyProfound
Quick facts for Paperboy and Profound, from the table below
RowPaperboyProfound
Cheapest paid plan$49 a monthNo fixed price shown
Fact checks claims against sourcesYesNot listed
Learns from Search ConsoleYesPartly
Publishes to your site for youPartlyPartly
MCP, API or CLI for agentsYesYes

Side by side

How do Paperboy and Profound compare, row by row?

Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026
Paperboy compared with Profound on eight rows, each cell with its source and the date it was read
FeaturePaperboyProfound
What it is for

Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

AI visibility tracking and AI marketing agents: tracks prompts on up to 9 answer engines (Trial: 50 prompts on 3 engines), plus AI-sourced traffic analytics for your domains.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Cheapest paid plan

Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

No public price for brands. The pricing page shows a free Trial and a custom Enterprise plan. The only published paid price found is Agency Growth for agencies: $399 per month per client workspace, from a Profound blog post dated 11 Nov 2025.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Free plan or trial
Yes

The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required).

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Yes

Yes. Free Trial plan: 7 days, 50 unique prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, 1 language, 1 region, limited AI Marketer credits, unlimited seats. No API, no exports, no data history.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Publishes to your site for you
Partly

Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

Partial. The AI Marketer drafts and rewrites pages and stages them in your CMS, and its homepage demo shows changes staged as drafts and a prompt to approve before publishing. Docs list CMS tools for WordPress, Drupal, Sanity, Contentful, Adobe Experience Manager and Framer. No hands-off publishing mode is described.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Fact checks claims against sources
Yes

Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated for articles. Profound has a FactCheck feature for claims that AI answers make about your brand, and it traces them to the publishers repeating them. The pages read do not say it checks claims in content it writes against the text of cited sources.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Learns from Search Console
Yes

Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

Partial. A native Google Search Console integration pulls impressions, clicks and average position into Profound, and Search Console nodes exist for Profound Agents. The page says to use both datasets to find content gaps and prioritize fixes. It does not say the data automatically picks or refreshes content.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Open source or self-host
Yes

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated. Profound is a hosted product. No open source or self-hosted option on the pages checked. The tryprofound GitHub org shows no public repos.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
MCP, API or CLI for agents
Yes

A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Yes

Hosted MCP server at mcp.tryprofound.com/mcp with read tools (reports, analytics, knowledge base) and write tools (workflows, prompts, documents, projects). Docs say it is Enterprise only. The pricing page shows API access on Enterprise only, none on Trial. No CLI, Zapier, n8n or Make listing found.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.

The honest verdict

When should I pick Profound, and when Paperboy?

Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.

Pick Profound if

  • Pick Profound if you are an enterprise team that needs many AI engines tracked, SSO and SOC 2, and is fine with sales-led, custom pricing.
  • Pick Profound if you want AI crawler and referral traffic analytics from your CDN and analytics stack next to visibility tracking.
  • Pick Profound if you want an agent that rewrites existing pages and stages the changes in your CMS for human approval, rather than a tool that writes and publishes new SEO articles.

What Profound does well, from its own pages

  • Covers up to 9 answer engines on Enterprise: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Exa Search. (source)
  • Agent Analytics tracks AI-sourced traffic and attribution across unlimited domains, with connectors for Cloudflare, Akamai, AWS, Fastly, Vercel, Netlify, WordPress and Google Analytics. (source)
  • Enterprise controls: SSO/SAML, SOC 2, unlimited seats, CSV and JSON export, API access and dedicated support options. (source)

Pick Paperboy if

  • You need pages that answer the questions AI answers get asked, with sources a model can cite.
  • You want those pages written, fact checked and published rather than only measured.
  • You want Search Console data picking the topics.

Judge it before you pay anyone

Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.

Write my first article free

What you get

What are the real differences between Paperboy and Profound?

The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.

Try it

How do I try Paperboy next to Profound?

You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from Profound.

  1. Keep Profound running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.

  2. Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.

  3. Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.

  4. Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.

Open in your browser
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.com

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.

About Profound

What is Profound, and how much does it cost?

AI marketing platform that tracks brand visibility across AI answer engines and runs an AI Marketer agent that drafts and stages content. (its own description, read Oct 29, 2026)

Brand pricing is not public: the page offers a free 7-day Trial or a demo for Enterprise. Agency Growth pricing comes from a Nov 2025 blog post and may have changed. Profound positions itself as an AI marketing platform with agents, wider than tracking only.

Last checked Oct 29, 2026
Profound plans and prices as shown on its pricing page
PlanPriceWhat the page says it includes
TrialFree for 7 daysLimited AI Marketer credits; 50 unique prompts run daily for 7 days; ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews; 1 language, 1 region; unlimited seats; no API, exports or data history
EnterpriseCustom, demo requiredAI Marketer credits for the team; tailored prompt plan; up to 9 answer engines; custom languages and regions; ChatGPT Shopping; CSV and JSON export; API access; SSO/SAML; SOC 2; dedicated support options; unlimited seats
Agency Growth (agencies only)$399/month per client workspace (from a Profound blog post dated 11 Nov 2025, not shown on the pricing page)400 credits per month per client workspace (pricing page FAQ); 100 custom prompts per client workspace; 6 articles optimized for AEO per month per client workspace; 10 pitch workspaces per month with 25 prompts each; ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews; 5 seats

From Profound's pricing page, read October 29, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.

FAQ

Questions about Paperboy and Profound

Still have a question? Ask us or read the docs.

How much does Profound cost?

Profound's pricing page did not show a price we could read on Oct 29, 2026. Check tryprofound.com.

Does Profound write or publish articles?

Partial. The AI Marketer drafts and rewrites pages and stages them in your CMS, and its homepage demo shows changes staged as drafts and a prompt to approve before publishing. Docs list CMS tools for WordPress, Drupal, Sanity, Contentful, Adobe Experience Manager and Framer. No hands-off publishing mode is described (docs.tryprofound.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Does Profound use Search Console data?

Partial. A native Google Search Console integration pulls impressions, clicks and average position into Profound, and Search Console nodes exist for Profound Agents. The page says to use both datasets to find content gaps and prioritize fixes. It does not say the data automatically picks or refreshes content (tryprofound.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Is Profound open source?

The Profound pages we read do not say (github.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Does Profound work with AI agents or MCP?

Hosted MCP server at mcp.tryprofound.com/mcp with read tools (reports, analytics, knowledge base) and write tools (workflows, prompts, documents, projects). Docs say it is Enterprise only. The pricing page shows API access on Enterprise only, none on Trial. No CLI, Zapier, n8n or Make listing found (docs.tryprofound.com, read Oct 29, 2026).

Sources

Where do these facts come from?

Where do these facts come from?

Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about Profound come from Profound's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.

Keep going

Where do I go next?

Ready to judge it on your own site?

Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.

You pick a plan only after you have read it.

Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.