AI visibility trackers (GEO)

Paperboy vs LLMrefs: which one should you use?

As of October 30, 2026, LLMrefs's cheapest paid plan is All in One at $79/month, per its own pricing page. LLMrefs is built around tracking and improving AI visibility, while Paperboy writes and fact checks the articles those answers can cite, and the table shows where the two overlap.

Last checked Oct 30, 2026LLMrefs pricing page
PaperboyLLMrefs
Quick facts for Paperboy and LLMrefs, from the table below
RowPaperboyLLMrefs
Cheapest paid plan$49 a month$79/month
Fact checks claims against sourcesYesNot listed
Learns from Search ConsoleYesNot listed
Publishes to your site for youPartlyNot listed
MCP, API or CLI for agentsYesPartly

Side by side

How do Paperboy and LLMrefs compare, row by row?

Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.

Last checked Oct 30, 2026
Paperboy compared with LLMrefs on eight rows, each cell with its source and the date it was read
FeaturePaperboyLLMrefs
What it is for

Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

AI search visibility tracking: keyword rankings across AI engines, share of voice, citation sources and content gap insights

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
Cheapest paid plan

Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026

One paid plan, All in One, at $79/month for 500 tracked prompts. Billing period beyond monthly is not stated. More keywords can be added by upgrading.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
Free plan or trial
Yes

The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required).

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Yes

Yes. A 7-day free trial with no credit card required. No free plan is listed.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
Publishes to your site for you
Partly

Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated on the LLMrefs homepage or pricing page. No article writing or CMS publishing is listed. Listed extras are an AI content A/B tester, an AI crawlability checker, a Reddit threads finder and an LLMs.txt generator.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
Fact checks claims against sources
Yes

Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated on the LLMrefs homepage or pricing page.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
Learns from Search Console
Yes

Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Not listed

Not stated on the LLMrefs homepage or pricing page. No Search Console integration is listed.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
Open source or self-host
Yes

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

The platform is a hosted service and no self-hosting is stated. The LLMrefs JavaScript SDK is MIT licensed on GitHub under the LLMrefs org.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026
MCP, API or CLI for agents
Yes

A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100.

SourceRead Oct 29, 2026
Partly

Partial. A documented API is included in the All in One plan, and a JavaScript SDK. An MCP server was not found on the pages checked.

SourceRead Oct 30, 2026

“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.

The honest verdict

When should I pick LLMrefs, and when Paperboy?

Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.

Pick LLMrefs if

  • Pick LLMrefs if you want a single flat-priced plan for tracking brand visibility across many AI engines and countries.
  • Pick LLMrefs if you manage several domains or a large team, since projects and team members are unlimited.
  • Pick LLMrefs if you only need measurement data and plan to write and publish content with another tool.

What LLMrefs does well, from its own pages

  • Tracks 9 AI engines in one flat plan with no per-engine fees, including Meta AI, Grok and Copilot. (source)
  • Offers geo-targeting across 50+ countries and 20+ languages, with unlimited team members and projects on the single plan. (source)
  • Provides monthly AI prompt volume estimates and a set of free-form utility tools such as an AI crawlability checker, Reddit threads finder and LLMs.txt generator. (source)

Pick Paperboy if

  • You need pages that answer the questions AI answers get asked, with sources a model can cite.
  • You want those pages written, fact checked and published rather than only measured.
  • You want Search Console data picking the topics.

Judge it before you pay anyone

Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.

Write my first article free

What you get

What are the real differences between Paperboy and LLMrefs?

The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.

Try it

How do I try Paperboy next to LLMrefs?

You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from LLMrefs.

  1. Keep LLMrefs running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.

  2. Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.

  3. Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.

  4. Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.

Open in your browser
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.com

The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.

About LLMrefs

What is LLMrefs, and how much does it cost?

AI search analytics platform that tracks brand visibility, share of voice and citations across generative AI engines, with content gap insights. (its own description, read Oct 30, 2026)

LLMrefs lists a single plan at $79/month, with additional keywords available by upgrading. It is a tracking and analytics product. No content writing, publishing, fact checking or Search Console integration was found on the homepage or pricing page. An MCP server was not found.

Last checked Oct 30, 2026
LLMrefs plans and prices as shown on its pricing page
PlanPriceWhat the page says it includes
All in One$79/monthTracks 500 prompts; ChatGPT, Google AI Overview, AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok, Copilot and Meta AI; weekly reports; citation tracking; geo-targeting in 50+ countries and 20+ languages; unlimited team members and projects; monthly AI prompt volume estimates; CSV export and API access; priority support; 7-day free trial, no credit card required

From LLMrefs's pricing page, read October 30, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.

FAQ

Questions about Paperboy and LLMrefs

Still have a question? Ask us or read the docs.

How much does LLMrefs cost?

As of Oct 30, 2026, LLMrefs lists All in One $79/month. llmrefs.com is the source, so confirm there before you buy.

Does LLMrefs write or publish articles?

The LLMrefs pages we read do not say (llmrefs.com, read Oct 30, 2026).

Does LLMrefs use Search Console data?

The LLMrefs pages we read do not say (llmrefs.com, read Oct 30, 2026).

Is LLMrefs open source?

The platform is a hosted service and no self-hosting is stated. The LLMrefs JavaScript SDK is MIT licensed on GitHub under the LLMrefs org (github.com, read Oct 30, 2026).

Does LLMrefs work with AI agents or MCP?

Partial. A documented API is included in the All in One plan, and a JavaScript SDK. An MCP server was not found on the pages checked (llmrefs.com, read Oct 30, 2026).

Sources

Where do these facts come from?

Where do these facts come from?

Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about LLMrefs come from LLMrefs's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.

Keep going

Where do I go next?

Ready to judge it on your own site?

Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.

You pick a plan only after you have read it.

Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.