General AI writers
As of October 30, 2026, Hypotenuse AI's pricing page shows no fixed self-serve plan price we could read. Hypotenuse AI is a general writing tool, while Paperboy writes only SEO articles and checks each cited claim against its source.
| Row | Paperboy | Hypotenuse AI |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | $49 a month | No fixed price shown |
| Fact checks claims against sources | Yes | Partly |
| Learns from Search Console | Yes | Not listed |
| Publishes to your site for you | Partly | Partly |
| MCP, API or CLI for agents | Yes | Partly |
Side by side
Every cell links the page it came from, with the day we read it.
| Feature | Paperboy | Hypotenuse AI |
|---|---|---|
| What it is for | Researches, writes, fact checks and publishes SEO articles to your own site, then learns from Search Console. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Ecommerce product content, data enrichment and image editing at catalog scale SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Cheapest paid plan | Starter is $49 a month per site for 3 articles a week. Growth is $99 and Pro is $179. Yearly billing is two months free. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Not stated on https://www.hypotenuse.ai/pricing. Both plans, Basic and Ecommerce Enterprise, show 'Custom' instead of a price, so the cheapest paid plan price and billing period are not published. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Free plan or trial | Yes The first article is free, no card. Any plan then starts with a 14-day trial (card required). SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly The Basic plan has a 'Try for free' button that leads to signup. Trial length, limits and card requirements are not stated on the pricing page. Enterprise is by demo. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Publishes to your site for you | Partly Posts directly to WordPress and Ghost. Other sites use a hosted blog, a signed webhook or a prompt that builds a blog in your code. No Shopify, Webflow, Wix or Squarespace connector. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly One-click publishing to a store or CMS: the integrations page lists Shopify (publish product descriptions with one click), WordPress (publish blog posts 'with the click of a button') and Webflow (export blog posts). Marketplaces, PIM and commerce tools such as Salsify, Stibo and Salesforce Commerce Cloud are also listed. Publishing is a manual click, not a scheduled pipeline. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fact checks claims against sources | Yes Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source. An article that fails gets one rewrite, then is held for you. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly Partial. The integrations page says the WordPress writer produces 'factually accurate blog posts', but no claim-to-source check is described. Enterprise includes an AI quality checker that checks content and product data against brand, legal, channel and data quality rules before publishing. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Learns from Search Console | Yes Optional read-only Search Console connection. It picks topics from your impressions and reports clicks per article. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Not listed Not stated on https://www.hypotenuse.ai/pricing or the homepage. No Google Search Console integration is listed. The pricing page lists SEO monitoring that tracks product page performance across Google, Amazon, Walmart and other retailers. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| Open source or self-host | Yes The engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-host it with Docker and your own keys. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Not listed Not stated on https://www.hypotenuse.ai/. It is a hosted commercial platform. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
| MCP, API or CLI for agents | Yes A remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file. The CLI is built in the open but not on npm yet. Agents pay with credits, $20 for 100. SourceRead Oct 29, 2026 | Partly An API is listed among integrations and custom integrations are offered. API documentation, pricing, MCP and CLI are not stated on the pages checked. The pricing page also mentions specialized AI agents for catalog work inside the platform. SourceRead Oct 30, 2026 |
“Not listed” means we found no statement either way on the pages linked in that cell. It does not mean the answer is no. Vendors change their pages, so confirm before you buy.
The honest verdict
Sometimes the other tool is the better fit. Here is how to tell.
Pick Hypotenuse AI if
What Hypotenuse AI does well, from its own pages
Pick Paperboy if
Judge it before you pay anyone
Your first article is free with its full fact check, so you can judge it before you pay anyone.
Write my first article freeWhat you get
The four that decide it for most people, each with the source for the other side.
Partial. The integrations page says the WordPress writer produces 'factually accurate blog posts', but no claim-to-source check is described. Enterprise includes an AI quality checker that checks content and product data against brand, legal, channel and data quality rules before publishing (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026). Paperboy compares every number and cited sentence with the saved text of the page it links to. An article that fails gets one rewrite and is then held for you instead of published.
The Hypotenuse AI pages we read do not say (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026). Paperboy reads Search Console, read-only, to choose the next topic and to report clicks and impressions per article.
The Hypotenuse AI pages we read do not say (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026). The Paperboy engine is open source under AGPL-3.0 and runs with Docker and your own keys.
An API is listed among integrations and custom integrations are offered. API documentation, pricing, MCP and CLI are not stated on the pages checked. The pricing page also mentions specialized AI agents for catalog work inside the platform (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026). Paperboy ships a remote MCP server with eight tools and a REST API with an OpenAPI file (the CLI is not on npm yet), so Claude Code, Cursor or n8n can run it.
Try it
You do not have to switch. Run Paperboy on one site, read the fact check, and compare it with what you get from Hypotenuse AI.
Keep Hypotenuse AI running. Nothing to cancel to try Paperboy.
Paste your site address. The first article is free, no card.
Read the fact check. Every number and cited sentence is compared with the saved text of its source.
Pick a plan only if you want more. Cancel with one button on the Billing page.
https://paperboyseo.com/start?url=yoursite.comThe engine is open source under AGPL-3.0. Self-hosting for your own sites is free; you pay your own model bill. Self-host docs.
About Hypotenuse AI
Hypotenuse AI is an ecommerce content and product data platform that enriches catalog attributes, writes product descriptions, meta tags and blog articles in a brand voice, and edits product images. (its own description, read Oct 30, 2026)
No price is published for either plan, so cost comparisons need a quote. Focus is product content for ecommerce, so it overlaps with Paperboy mainly on SEO and blog writing. Homepage, pricing and integrations pages were checked; no docs or API reference were fetched.
| Plan | Price | What the page says it includes |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | Custom (no price shown) | 1 seat, 40+ languages, product description generator, 20+ other ecommerce content types such as meta titles and descriptions, category pages and blog articles. Contact them for more seats or words. A 'Try for free' button is shown. |
| Ecommerce Enterprise | Custom (book a demo) | Product information and taxonomy management, attribute enrichment, tagging and categorization, AI quality checker, bulk AI image editor, bespoke AI models, custom integrations with PIM, ERP and ecommerce platforms, team access controls, dedicated account manager and onboarding |
From Hypotenuse AI's pricing page, read October 30, 2026. Paperboy's own prices are on our pricing page.
FAQ
Hypotenuse AI's pricing page did not show a price we could read on Oct 30, 2026. Check hypotenuse.ai.
Partial. The integrations page says the WordPress writer produces 'factually accurate blog posts', but no claim-to-source check is described. Enterprise includes an AI quality checker that checks content and product data against brand, legal, channel and data quality rules before publishing (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026).
One-click publishing to a store or CMS: the integrations page lists Shopify (publish product descriptions with one click), WordPress (publish blog posts 'with the click of a button') and Webflow (export blog posts). Marketplaces, PIM and commerce tools such as Salsify, Stibo and Salesforce Commerce Cloud are also listed. Publishing is a manual click, not a scheduled pipeline (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026).
The Hypotenuse AI pages we read do not say (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026).
An API is listed among integrations and custom integrations are offered. API documentation, pricing, MCP and CLI are not stated on the pages checked. The pricing page also mentions specialized AI agents for catalog work inside the platform (hypotenuse.ai, read Oct 30, 2026).
Sources
Every cell above links the page we read, and every date is the day we read it. Facts about Hypotenuse AI come from Hypotenuse AI's own pages only. Facts about Paperboy come from pages on this site. If something is wrong or out of date, write to hello@paperboyseo.com and we will fix it and change the date.
Keep going
Paste your address. In under ten minutes you read a finished, fact-checked article written for your site. Free, no card.
Prefer to run it yourself? Self-host it (repo coming soon). Using an agent? Add the MCP server.